MARK217: Big Decisions…

This morning, a very sad thing happened. My favourite and only phone died. It’s an iPhone 4S that I’ve had for just over two years and in that time I have dropped it over and over and over again. Yes, it has served me well. But now I must make the big decision of what kind of phone to get next? Should I buy a cheap 4S off EBay? Should I go on another plan and get the latest iPhone 5? Should I switch brands and get a completely different phone? Should I buy the cheapest phone I can find until I make a decision?! The only positive thing about this is that I now have a topic for this week’s blog on week 4’s topic: Decision Making.

But what is a decision? In its most simple terms, a decision is “the selection of an action from two or more alternative choices” (Schiffman et al, 2014, p. 486). There are three levels of consumer decision making. These are extensive problem solving, limited problem solving and routinized response behaviour. Additionally, there are four different views of decision making. These are the economic model, the passive model, the cognitive model and the emotional model (Schiffman et al, 2014, p. 489). In regards to buying a new phone, I would say this involves routinized-response behaviour as I have some experience with the product category and an established set of criteria for which to base my decision on.

So…rather than making an emotional decision and rushing out to buy the latest iPhone which I can’t afford, instead I plan to (but who knows?) employ a cognitive approach. This will mean weighing up the possible benefits and risks of several different brands and primarily make a rational decision based on an internal and external information search (Solomon, 2006).

References:

Schiffman, L, O’Cass, A, Paladino, A & Carlson, J 2014, Consumer Behaviour, 6th edn, Pearson Australia, Frenchs Forest, Australia

Solomon, MR 2006, Consumer Behavior: Buying, Having and Being, 7th edn, Pearson Prentice Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ

Leave a Reply

